Historic!! Joe Mettle Wins Artist Of The Year At VGMA 2017 – Full List Of Winners

Sharing is caring!


The 18th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards organized by Charterhouse is over and history was indeed made.

For the very first time in the history of the awards, Gospel musician Joe Mettle won the covetous title of Artist of the year.

The event which took place at the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC) on Saturday April 8 2017 was hit with major power issue that delayed the awards show for a little over an hour.

Performers on the night included Sarkodie, M.anifest, Nacee, Medikal, Stonebwoy, Runtown from Nigerian, Toofan and many others.

Veteran musician Charles Amoah was also present to perform.

Although not nominated for the biggest honour, Artist of the year, Kofi Kinaata hit a hat trick as we won Highlife Song of The Year, Songwriter of The Year and High Life Artist of The Year.

Other winners included Sarkodie, M.anifest, Stonebwoy, Flowking Stone, Joe Mettle and others.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Benjamin Paapa Kofi Yankson

Traditional artiste of the year – Sammy Ahmed

Instrumentalist of the year – Philip Acquah

Traditional Artiste Of The Year – Mr Sammy Ahmed

Best Gospel Song of The Year – Yewo Nyame A Yweo Adze by Nacee ft Ernest Opoku

Highlife Song of The Year – Confession by Kofi Kinaata

Reggae/Dancehall Song of The Year – People Dey by Stonebwoy

Hip Hop Song of The Year – God MC by M.anifest

HipLife Song of The Year – Go Low by Flowking Stone

Afropop Song of The Year – Kaabueme by E.L

Gospel Artist of The Year – Joe Mettle

High Life Artist of The Year – Kofi Kinaata

Hip Life/ Hip Hop Artist of The Year – Sarkodie

Songwriter of The Year – Kofi Kinaata (Confession)

Reggae/Dancehall Artist of The Year – Stonebwoy

Best Collaboration of The Year – VVIP ft Patoranking (Alhaji)

Female Vocalist of The Year – Adina

Best Male Vocalist of The Year – Joe Mettle (Onwawani)

Best Group of The Year – VVIP

Best Music Video f The Year – Small Small (Okyeame Kwame ft MzVee)

Best Rapper of The Year – M.anifest

African Artist of The Year – Runtown

Best New Artist of The Year – Fancy Gaddam

Record of The Year – Too Late by Adina Thembi Prod. by Killbeatz, King Promise

Vodafone Most Popular Song of The Year – Christy by Dobble

Album of the Year – Counsellor by Nacee

Artist of The Year – Joe-Mettle


Facebook Comments

Sharing is caring!

Recommended for You...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *